Dream Girls In Song


Actual dream girl.

There are many girls of stage, screen, and….uh….stage who I am in love with Rose Byrne, Mary Elizabeth Winstead, Annie Clark, and the main one to the right usually fall into the top 4. However, every once in a while, girls in songs seem like they have everything to offer, fictional or not. Whether it be beauty, attitude, or just the way a songwriter reacts to the woman, some of them just seem so appealing. Below is a list of 7 (I had to cut a few out) dream girls from songs.

[Note: Post subconsciously inspired by this playlist from a few years ago.]

Eleanor in The Felice Brothers – “Love Me Tenderly”
“Donny wants me to buy him a bottle but I blew my wallet on a chandelier / All for my loving gal Eleanor who loves the elderly”

The girl in The Mountain Goats – “Broom People”
“I write down good reasons to freeze to death / In my spiral-ring notebook / But in the long tresses of your hair / I am a babbling brook”

Susanne in Weezer – “Susanne”
“When I met you I was all alone / Cold and hungry crying on the phone / You baked me brownies and said “don’t you cry” / And gave me the coat off your back”

Sheena in The Ramones – “Sheena is a Punk Rocker”
“But she just couldn’t stay / She had to break away / Well New York City really has is all / Oh yeah, oh yeah”

Bobby Jean in Bruce Springsteen – “Bobby Jean”
“We liked the same music, we liked the same bands / We liked the same clothes / We told each other that we were the wildest / The wildest things we’d ever seen”

The Flight Attendant in The Replacements – “Waitress in the Sky”
“She don’t wear no pants and she don’t wear no tie”

The Punk Rock Girl in The Dead Milkmen – “Punk Rock Girl”
“We got into her car away we started rolling / I said, “How much you pay for this?” / Said, “Nothing man, it’s stolen””

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Music

Stick With Us

Stay connected through our social profiles:

3 Comments on “Dream Girls In Song”

  1. Colin Holmes
    07.29.11 at 3:58 PM #

    I always thought Bobby Jean was about Miami Steve.

  2. 07.29.11 at 6:22 PM #

    Somewhere, Rosalita is saying, “ummm, really? Bobby Jean?”

    • Liz Connolly
      07.31.11 at 9:09 PM #

      There’s a reason why 10 year old me cried when Dad played that song. Bobby Jean is way cooler than Rosie–or at least Bruce writes about her like she is.

Join the Discussion

