Life With The Low Brow

new girl

I am here to embarrass myself as I have done before, I am here to come clean. Somewhat recently, I decided I was an intellectual. I decided I was a person who dressed well, who thought cool thoughts, who said great things, who people aspired to be like. I decided I was someone who was intelligent, who understood the way the world works, someone who is wise beyond my years. I was someone with impeccable musical tastes, who people looked to for advice and guidance. There is only one problem with this decision: none of that is true. I often spend hours thinking of the finer points of the paradoxes of time travel. I make dick jokes. Often. I talk too much and too loudly, and I don’t even have much of a grasp on the things I earned a college degree for having a grasp of. But now, I am okay with that, because I realized, liking dumb shit doesn’t matter. I have no problem admitting that I have never seen any of the Godfather films, but I watch (and enjoy) Nic Cage films when they are on TV. I’m not even talking good Nic Cage films like Leaving Las Vegas or Raising Arizona, I’m talking straight-up nonsensical melodrama like Next and Knowing. Still, I have dreams of being that great man (which is probably partly due to my GQ subscription). I’d like to be Nick Hornby. I’d even like to be Rob Gordon. But in reality, I am a much more depressing version of Joseph Gordon-Levitt‘s character in (500) Days of Summer. I have big dreams but lack the energy to chase them. I have realized that this would all be easier if I got incepted. This is how I see myself on a good day. And a great day. This is how I actually am. But as I said, I have grown to accept this.

They say a group is only as strong as its weakest link, and I think a man is only as highbrow as his lowest-brow interests allow him to be. But lowbrow is not a bad word. Many of the people who fought our wars, our forefathers who worked in factories, our mothers who raised us: they are all lowbrow. However, most of them would still never admit to liking any of the shit below. Below I have listed 7 things I love that many (myself included) consider lowbrow. I will not explain them. I will not defend them. I will embrace them with open arms, and you should too.
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

New Girl

Katy Perry – “E.T.”

Paramore – “That’s What You Get”

Storage Wars

The film Definitely Maybe

Nearly Anything Sung By Robyn

The entire Tears For Fears catalog

Categories: Life

Stick With Us

Stay connected through our social profiles:

6 Comments on “Life With The Low Brow”

  1. kotyneelis
    03.15.12 at 11:29 AM #

    Hahah I love this. You and I should be friends.

  2. winebibber
    03.15.12 at 12:38 PM #

    NOTHIN’ WRONG WITH ROBYN.

  3. 03.15.12 at 4:43 PM #

    it’s like you know me without ever knowing me…

  4. 03.15.12 at 6:43 PM #

    I didn’t know there was anyone else on this planet who saw Definitely, Maybe….and enjoyed it, thoroughly.

    • 03.15.12 at 8:38 PM #

      Yeah, I actually thoroughly enjoyed Definitely, Maybe too…

  5. 04.3.12 at 10:20 PM #

    me too!

Join the Discussion

