Top 7 Lucas Quotes from Empire Records (1995)


Lucas, from Empire Records

Ask any one of the other authors on List Off, and they’ll tell you that my standards for TV and film are sometimes questionable. My favorites come from left-field; truly obscure and sometimes forgettable shows and movies that should have never seen the light of day. I also get with the program a little late (I’m a late bloomer when it comes to seeing true classics). However, I think everyone can agree that Empire Records, one of the few great coming of age films of the 90s, is bliss. It’s so ridiculously 90s, and gives the John Hughes films of the 80s a run of its decade-relevance. It also doesn’t hurt that it has a killer soundtrack, which features the likes of Gin Blossoms, The Cranberries, Better Than Ezra, and singer/songwriter (and minor character in the actual film) Coyote Shivers. I only just recently watched this movie from beginning to end. I’ve usually caught it half way through, or when it was almost over, and I can’t in good conscious let that slide for a movie I have high expectations for. And I definitely had high expectations for Empire Records, which has been on my long list of movies to see. It did not fail me. Each character was great in his or her own messed up way, and that’s what brought them together in the end. They were all different, but all fucked up; and they were music lovers who worked in what seems like the coolest record store of it’s time.

The movie has a ton of great one-liners, especially from Lucas (played by Rory Cochrane), who we are introduced to in the very beginning. He’s real out-there, and I still don’t consider him, “cool” by any means, but he said some great philosophical quotes. Did you know he was actually in another great 90s teen flick, Dazed and Confused? Only that one was a look back at a simpler time (1976). What a pothead. As much as I enjoy raining on parades and ruining people’s good times, I won’t give away anymore about the film. Go see it. It’ll make you wish you worked at a record store, even if that comes with you having problems. But for those who know and love this Allan Moyle-directed gem, reflect on these quotes from our main man in the black turtleneck: Lucas.

1. “Damn the man.”

2. “In the immortal words of The Doors, ‘The time to hesitate is through.'”

3. Lucas: Joe, I think it’s gonna be okay.
Joe: What makes you think that?
Lucas: Who knows where thoughts come from? They just appear.

4. A.J.: What’s with you? Yesterday you were normal and today you’re like the Chinese guy from the Karate Kid. What’s with you today?
Lucas: What’s with today today?

5. “I do not regret the things I have done, but those I did not do.”

6. Lady at Craps Table: Feeling lucky?
Lucas: I am guided by a force much greater than luck.

7. Joe: I want you to take these, hold ’em against your chest, stand against the wall, and they’re gonna take a photograph of you.
Warren: Why don’t you go shove ’em up your ass?
Lucas: …Because it would hurt a lot, Warren.

“Superb”

Tags: , ,

Categories: Film

Author:Mike Pop

Rock & roll.

Stick With Us

Stay connected through our social profiles:

2 Comments on “Top 7 Lucas Quotes from Empire Records (1995)”

  1. 07.13.11 at 10:20 AM #

    Best movie ever

  2. Katie Brethorst
    04.1.12 at 1:16 PM #

    Hey Lucas is frickin hot!! Lets not forget that he is the Zen master

Join the Discussion

