Indie Like The Wolf


Musicians (especially indie-musicians) seem to be obsessed with wildlife. Whether it be horses (Band of Horses) bears (Grizzly Bear, Panda Bear) or any other land animal (for some reason, fish seem off-limits), indie bands love going to them for inspiration. A trend I have noticed though, is some really great songs mention wolves. Now, maybe this just stands out to me because I (along with fellow List Off-ers Dan and Shawn) took a creative writing class in college with a girl who often talked about wolves, wore a wolf skin coat, and was in love with Shawn (HAHA SHAWN!), but either way, here are seven excellent songs with “wolf” or “wolves” in the title.

Bon Iver – The Wolves (Act I and II)
Wolf mention: “With the wild wolves around you / In the morning, I’ll call you

Manchester Orchestra – Wolves at Night
Wolf mention: “Cause I confide in wolves at night / I’m like a virgin losing a child, So lonely, so lonely

Iron and Wine – Wolves (Song of the Shepherd’s Dog)
Wolf mention: “Wolves at the end of the bed / And a postcard hidden in her winter clothes

Josh Ritter – Wolves
Wolf mention: “But I started listening to the wolves in the timber / Wolves in the timber at night / I heard their songs when I looked in the mirror / In the howls and the moons round my eyes

TV on the Radio – Wolf Like Me
Wolf mention: “Feeding on fever / Down on all fours / show you what all the howlin’s for

R.E.M. – Wolves, Lower
Wolf mention: “Wilder lower wolves / Here’s a house to put wolves out the door / In a corner garden, wilder lower wolves

Sea Wolf – You’re a Wolf
Wolf mention: “Old gypsy woman spoke to me, said, You’re a wolf, boy, get out of this town

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Music

Stick With Us

Stay connected through our social profiles:

10 Comments on “Indie Like The Wolf”

  1. John Thomas
    07.21.11 at 8:23 PM #

    “Furr” by Blitzen Trapper

  2. 07.21.11 at 9:24 PM #

    I still have the love letter.

    • 07.21.11 at 11:40 PM #

      Please, she still writes you. You’d be jaded to think she don’t wanna miss a thing with you. Especially involving you in an elevator.

  3. Colin Holmes
    07.21.11 at 11:36 PM #

    Jim how could you leave off Hungry Like The Wolf by Duran Duran? This is a glaring omission.

  4. 07.22.11 at 12:50 AM #

    R.E.M.!

  5. 07.22.11 at 1:50 AM #

    I thought the manchester lyric was “I confide in wolves at night”

    • 07.22.11 at 3:35 PM #

      it is…this was the only time songmeanings.net has let me down

  6. 07.24.11 at 12:03 PM #

    Josh Ritter also mentions wolves in his song Empty Hearts ” while outside in the frost are the wolves in the lost”

  7. 09.18.11 at 11:11 PM #

    Wolf Am I and Odd Future Wolf Gang Kill Them All are absent

  8. thespotwithdjleopard
    11.16.11 at 11:13 AM #

    I just came across this and I reminisced on Creative Writing class memories as soon as I read about the girl who was in love with Shawn with the wolf obsession.

Join the Discussion

