“Oh My God – Shoes.” The Top 7. Alt. Rock Songs.


I would've stolen 'em.

Who was the first artist to write a song about shoes? Was it Elvis? I’m thinking it was Elvis. What’s so appealing about shoes? I don’t get it. Sure some look cool, but really, to write so many songs about them? For me, someone scoffs my Pumas and that’s about the end of it. I let it slide. (That’s a “No Sex In The Champagne Room” reference, kids.) Some people really take a lot of pride in their kicks, especially rappers. I for one, only cared about, like, track flats, or soccer cleats. Other shoes – who cares? It’s like my thoughts towards cars; if it gets you from Point A to Point B, then so what? I guess as long as it doesn’t cost a fortune, or make you look like a fool, anything’s acceptable. Some really cool (and uncool) bands have written songs about shoes. Here are the Top 7 shoe-tracks that alternative (not shoegaze) bands have put out.

7. She & Him – “Brand New Shoes”

6. The Clash – “All The Young Punks (New Boots And Contracts)”

5. Foster The People – “Pumped Up Kicks”

4. Tokyo Police Club – “Wait Up (Boots of Danger)”

3. Fucked Up – “The Other Shoe”

2. Sonic Youth – “Dirty Boots”

1. Arctic Monkeys – “Dancing Shoes”

Foster The People – “Pumped Up Kicks”

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: Fashion, Music

Author:Mike Pop

Rock & roll.

Stick With Us

Stay connected through our social profiles:

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Rock Your Toocool Look - 08.3.11

    […] “Oh My God, Shoes.” The Top 7. Alt. Rock Songs. « Sure some look cool but really, to write so many songs about them? For me, someone scoffs my Pumas and that's about the end of it. I let it slide. (That's a “No Sex In The Champagne Room” reference, kids. […]

Join the Discussion

