Fuck You And Fuck This Town: 7 Songs of Spite


It seems that love songs are always the most popular ones. They are full of honesty, emotion, and sincerity, but all of that stuff is lame. One could argue (and I will if you try me) that songs full of anger and hate, when done well, contain so much more feeling and emotion than even the strongest ballad.

As a young, post-college adult living in his parents house, I (along with most other List-Offers) know a little something about wanting to skip town. Sometimes the boredom of being stuck in one place for a long time can draw out the anger only usually reserved for hardcore racists and those who honk at you from their cars for no reason. The ire drawn from wanting to be someone else, somewhere else has also inspired some truly vile tunes.

That being said, the following are seven great tunes that say “Fuck You” or “Fuck This Town” or a bit of both.

Morrissey It’s Not Your Birthday Anymore

It’s not your birthday anymore
There’s no need to be kind to you
And the will to see you smile and belong has now gone
It’s not your birthday anymore
Did you really think we meant all those syrupy sentimental things that we said yesterday?

Death Cab for CutieTiny Vessels

So one last touch and then you’ll go
And we’ll pretend that it meant something so much more
But it was vile, and it was cheap
And you are beautiful, but you don’t mean a thing to me

The Mountain GoatsNo Children

I hope I lie
And tell everyone you were a good wife
And I hope you die
I hope we both die

R.E.M.(Don’t Go Back To) Rockville

You’ll wind up in some factory
That’s full-time filth and nowhere left to go
Walk home to an empty house, sit around all by yourself
I know it might sound strange, but I believe
You’ll be coming back before too long

Don’t go back to Rockville and waste another year

Cursive The Night I Lost the Will to Fight

I need a catalyst, to rekindle the flame
That once burned within these fists where defeat remains
One February night, we screamed our agonies
And I swear I tried to care
I tried, I tried
And I lost the will to fight

Lily AllenFuck You

Fuck you (fuck you)
Fuck you very very much
Cause we hate what you do and we hate your whole crew
So please don’t stay in touch

Ray LaMontagneNew York City’s Killing Me

There’s just something about this hotel
Got me wishin’ I was dead.
Got to get out of New York City,
Somewhere I can clear my head.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: Music

Stick With Us

Stay connected through our social profiles:

No comments yet.

Join the Discussion

