Seven Things I Will Miss Most From My iTunes Library


I awoke last Friday and saw and heard something on my laptop screen that makes Mac users cringe with horrible memories: “The Gray Screen of Death,” proceeded by an incessant clicking noise from my fatally wounded hard drive. Admittedly, I have backed up exactly nothing on an external hard drive because 1.) I don’t prepare for the worst and 2.) “That’ll never happen to me!” Well, it did, and now everything on my old hard drive has passed and gone to Apple Heaven. When the store employee told me they would not be able to transfer any information to my new hard drive my initial thoughts were, “This is okay, I have all of my important documents saved on a flash drive” and “OH MY GOD, ALL OF MY MUSIC!”

Losing all of the coveted music from my iTunes was like when I saw our family’s first (indoor) cat run out of the front door and never come back. I was crushed. Sure, I can revive a lot of my original tunes through friend’s libraries. But it won’t be the same. It will be too easy. My library has grown up with me, starting with bands like Catch 22 and ending with artists like Tom Waits. It’s seen me musically mature, as I dug through archives to find new genres to fall in love with.

Maybe I’m glorifying my iTunes library a little too much. Maybe this is a clean slate, and a time for me to grow more as a listener. There are an abundant of “life goes on” clichés that are applicable here. But don’t we all need a reason to celebrate our fallen friends?

-David Bowie’s “Space Oddity” was the most played song on my iTunes with around 80 plays. It’s beyond my comprehension how that song won the award. I think I played it twice. My library had some weird quirks.

I will miss using my iTunes library as a reference. If I want to know what the longest Bob Dylan song is or if I forget the name of the last track on Will Smith’s Big Willie Style, I will have to use…the internet?

Once the holiday season came around, people counted on my extensive Christmas playlist. It was eclectic, warm and jubilant. I’m not sure how I’m going to get through December without it.

The artist with the most music in my library was Bruce Springsteen (big shock). I won’t miss his studio albums as much as I’ll loath digging up the 8 to 10 live bootlegs I uploaded over the years.

The “shuffle” button just won’t be as fun once I start acquiring new music. Never again will I get that random satisfaction like when “Man in the Mirror” by Michael Jackson would bleed into the theme song from Family Matters.

-Everyone’s iTunes library, for the most part, is a timeline of sorts. Songs will come on that you didn’t even know you had. I’ll miss hearing the opening notes of a song and going, “Wow, I haven’t this since…,” and then proceed to check the “Last Played” column and say, “Why was I listening to ‘In the Air Tonight’ by Phil Collins on October 17, 2008 at 3:42 a.m.?

During my freshman year of college, my library was titled “Dan Connolly’s Baby Making Music” (note: This was not to lure in any women to my dorm room, believe me). The name was a direct result of sharing a room with two fairly suave black men. They opened me up to the smooth sound of R&B and provided me with dozens of slow jams. The song below being the most appropriate.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Music

Stick With Us

Stay connected through our social profiles:

4 Comments on “Seven Things I Will Miss Most From My iTunes Library”

  1. Colin Holmes
    08.24.11 at 8:32 PM #

    If I lost all my music on my iTunes I’d probably cry.

  2. 08.27.11 at 8:47 AM #

    You have a great weblog and I like your style of writing about this stuff. Keep up the good work!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Best Live Nine Inch Nails Songs | List Off - 03.19.12

    […] mention of Bruce Springsteen my co-writers have put on the site: Here, Here, Here, Here, Here, Here, Here, and Here. You could almost conclude that this is a Springsteen fan site. Although I have no […]

Join the Discussion

