7 Well Respected Things I Have No Desire For


This whole post may undermine my standing as a person with worthy opinions of anything, but there are certain acclaimed films/albums/TV programs that, no matter how much great press or word of mouth they get, I do not care about them for whatever reason. I’m checking my slight cover of internet anonymity at the door and coming at you guys with complete honesty. You may never look at me the same way again, but this is just how it is, so deal with it.

Firefly

Look, I like Joss Whedon. I even respect him. I have tons of love for Buffy and spent more hours than I am willing to admit watching Angel. I am sure I would absolutely love Firefly. However, after years of hearing how awesome it is and how much I would love it and seeing Nathan Fillion idolized by the nerd community I am often a part of, I can’t help but let out a sigh of “meh.”

Boardwalk Empire

I respect basically every member of this cast (Michael Pitt, Michael Shannon, Stephen Graham, Steve Buscemi) and Scorsese has no peers in the filmmaking world. However, I missed the boat on the beginning of the show and now have to drudge through everyone telling me how great it is, and the worst part? The people telling me how great it is are both people’s whose opinions I respect and people’s who I do not. Plus it can’t help that many of the people who tell me how great this show is also said the same about Entourage.

The Wire

This one basically comes down to: I missed the boat. At this point I’d feel like more of a loser being the guy who says, years after it ended, “you guys, The Wire is totally great” than being the guy who has never seen it.

Watch The Throne

Blah blah blah Jay-Z. Blah blah blah Kanye West. Blah blah blah amazing album. Blah blah blah I find it soooo hard to care.

The Social Network

This is the rare case on this list where I never really cared about this one from the beginning. I love David Fincher. I have lots of respect for Jesse Eisenberg. That’s basically where my praise on this thing ends. As a writer, I will probably never live this down, but why is Aaron Sorkin such a big deal?

Mad Men

This one I am actually sure I will love, as is everyone else who has talked to me about it. However, when I settle in to my Netflix account and prepare to get some serious Mad Men-ing done, I am always distracted by silly, horrible films which I never regret watching. This has happened over a dozen times and will happen a dozen more before I find myself watching Mad Men I’m sure.

The Godfather

Okay. So this is the one where if I get respected for my critical writing at any time in my life, people will find this post and my career will be ruined. I’m gonna put this one all out there. I don’t care for mob films. And I know what you’ll say, that The Godfather isn’t just a mob film. I don’t care. The statute of limitations on me caring about this film passed before I was born. I don’t want to sound like an uneducated, stubborn little asshole, but enough time has been spent on The Godfather already. I don’t need to watch it to validate myself, my opinions, or the film. The film is beloved, and me watching and enjoying or not enjoying the film will not change that. Why should I spent hours watching a film that, in the end, will only serve to show how useless my opinions and viewing habits are when I can watch Night of the Comet instead. Now I will happily lay down any critical respect anyone has had for me (no one has had that) and simply say that when it comes to The Godfather, I really could not care less.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: Film, TV

Stick With Us

Stay connected through our social profiles:

28 Comments on “7 Well Respected Things I Have No Desire For”

  1. Colin Holmes
    09.28.11 at 12:31 AM #

    You don’t have to worry about Firefly which is incredibly mediocre, but seriously dude get on everything else. The Wire is the pinnacle of television as a medium, and Mad Men is one of the best shows currently on the air. You should also really watch The Godfather so you can watch The Godfather Part II which is even better.

    • 09.28.11 at 12:34 AM #

      Don’t listen to Colin, Firefly was fuckin’ great.

  2. Colin Holmes
    09.28.11 at 12:41 AM #

    Don’t listen to Shawn. He’s a nerd.

  3. 09.28.11 at 1:09 AM #

    I tend to of agree with all of this minus The Social Network, which is, well, all sorts of phenomenal.

  4. Colin Holmes
    09.28.11 at 1:56 AM #

    I agree Dan, The Social Network is great, and was probably (almost definitely) the best movie of 2010. Boardwalk Empire I can understand not watching because it’s on HBO, and The Wire is a pricey set. I just got access to my friend’s HBO Go so I’m just now starting to watch Boardwalk Empire otherwise I wouldn’t have seen it either, but how do you guys not watch The Godfather when you’re getting into movies when you’re younger?

  5. Luke Stier
    09.28.11 at 2:08 AM #

    I’m offended on so many levels

  6. 09.28.11 at 7:44 AM #

    I’m offended on more levels than the previous commenter.

  7. 09.28.11 at 9:51 AM #

    Well, here’s the deal. I understand that, like a fugitive on the run from the law, no matter how you feel about certain things, you can only avoid them for so long.

    While I am sure I will eventually see The Godfather (along with many other things on this list) in reaction to this list, I felt full disclosure was the right method. SO for the offended, confused, and angered, I offer seven promises:

    I’ll start with Firefly, because that’s more my speed.

    I’ll watch Boardwalk Empire when all the faux-bros I know stop raving about it and calling it “Boardwalk”

    If someone wants to send me a bunch of money or the whole collection of The Wire on DVD I’d be down for that (note: If you send me money, it will not be spent on The Wire on DVD)

    I’d really like to enjoy Watch The Throne, but I’ll take my time getting to that as (GASP!) I’ve never been much of a Jay-Z fan and as an underemployed college grad, two super-rich dudes rapping about being super-rich isn’t my scene right now

    Sometimes critical-acclaim alone, no matter how universal, cannot rouse me to watch something. I am sorry, but I still have zero interest in The Social Network

    I’ll wait on Mad Men too, as Brylcreem is expensive and I have a feeling I’d get way too super into it.

    And finally, I will watch the Godfather, and I will review it here, for all of these chomping at the bit to see if this movie is any good (I heard the third one is the best).

    And finally, I invited my fellow List-Offers to throw themselves to the wolves and make similar posts. Let’s be obnoxious, stubborn jerks together.

    (This post, this early, brought to you by 5 Hour Energy)

  8. 09.28.11 at 11:45 AM #

    What you are missing from both Boardwalk Empire and the Wire is Michael Kenneth Williams. That guy is bad-ass.

    This is the first time I am hearing of Firefly being recognized as a good show.

    I have the same Netflix problem with Mad Men.

    Watch the Throne wasn’t all that phenomenal. But I’m not terribly impressed by Jay-Z, ever.

  9. Matt Keefer
    09.28.11 at 11:58 AM #

    I agree with you on most of these, but having just watched my first episode of Boardwalk Empire I can say you are really missing out.

    However, I will now call it “Boardwalk” whenever I reference it in your presence.

  10. 09.28.11 at 12:05 PM #

    Entourage sucks. Mad Men and Boardwalk Empire are awesome.

  11. winebibber
    09.28.11 at 12:10 PM #

    I’m actually surprised I got through (& loved) all of Mad Men because it’s the slooooooooowest show in the world.

  12. Colin Holmes
    09.28.11 at 1:52 PM #

    Mad Men does move at its own pace (which I think is due to the fact that it’s primarily driven by character development rather than plot building), but it’s an endlessly fascinating show and Don Draper is an amazing character.

    • 09.28.11 at 2:42 PM #

      I’ve seen two episodes and I thought the acting was atrocious

      • Colin Holmes
        09.28.11 at 3:14 PM #

        Well you also like anime so there’s that.

  13. Colin Holmes
    09.28.11 at 1:53 PM #

    Also Jim, The Wire’s title sequence theme is a Tom Waits song so there’s that too.

  14. 09.28.11 at 3:38 PM #

    I just want to know what Mike Pop thinks.

  15. 09.29.11 at 10:06 PM #

    I LOVE Boardwalk Emp. Think about it all the time. It’s the best thing going on HBO.

    I more or less agree with Jim on the other things. But I’ve never really given Mad Men a chance, and I fear it could be too late to get on the bandwagon.

    And Entourage is garbage. You want to hear my impression of every episode of that show ever?: Hey, he can do the movie. Wait, he’s mad, he won’t do it now. Hold up, can he get more money? No? Okay, well, he’ll still do the movie. No – yes – no – yes, yes he’ll do the movie. The end.

  16. 09.30.11 at 2:43 PM #

    This
    …. is
    ….your…

    cre
    d
    ib
    i
    l

    it
    y.

  17. 09.30.11 at 6:59 PM #

    Agree on all counts, except for Watch the Throne.. which unfortunately was very below what I expected it to be.. and the Godfather.. which is just great.

  18. 10.1.11 at 8:20 AM #

    Don’t bother watching “The Social Network”, for me it was one of the most boring films of 2010.

    Agree 100% with you. Until I read your post I had the feeling I was the only outcast who avoided watching movies/series just because everyone was talking about them.
    I can proudly say that I missed “Lost” -I quite never got why did I have to see a series about strange things happening to a group of “cast away” people. The best thing is that now I can’t count myself among the millions of people disappointed with the wrapping of the series.

  19. 10.1.11 at 4:42 PM #

    I’m with you, bro. I couldn’t care less about all of the things you named. I’m just not a “band wagon” type of chick. In fact, of all the films/albums/TV shows on your list, I have only seen/heard one of them- The Godfather. I can honestly say I just don’t see what all the hype is about. And if I were forced to watch it again, I might cut out my eyeballs with plastic scissors. LOL

  20. 10.1.11 at 4:45 PM #

    I watched firefly because i happened upon it and so didn’t have to measure it against the hype. I know what you mean though, it isnt the shows themselves its the circumstances around them that make you less than enthusiastic. I tend to dig my heels in the more people rave about something. Godfather is great i’m sure but i’ll never go there or mad men or boardwalk….and i started the social network but couldn’t be bothered to finish.

  21. 10.4.11 at 1:59 AM #

    me neither. lets go ride bikes.

  22. 02.7.12 at 12:50 AM #

    I couldn’t agree more with these list, the Godfather was way too boring for me to watch repeatedly.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 7 Things I Enjoy That I Probably Shouldn’t | List Off - 10.6.11

    […] Things I Enjoy That I Probably Shouldn’t Last week, Jim posted quite a stirring piece on popular and well-respected films/albums/television programs he couldn’t care less about. […]

  2. Life With The Low Brow | List Off - 03.15.12

    […] With The Low Brow I am here to embarrass myself as I have done before, I am here to come clean. Somewhat recently, I decided I was an intellectual. I decided I was a […]

Join the Discussion

