Mega Post: Songs Of Autumn


Every once in a while, we’ll be doing some joint “Mega Posts” where all four of us list our favorites on one topic, in one post. In this edition, we each individually selected seven songs that remind us of the fall. Playlists coming soon.

Shawn

When I was sorting through my music library to fill out my list of Fall songs I had the image that I have always associated with the season in my head: looking up out of a moving car at the dying leaves with a cool breeze. While listening to my song selections if I couldn’t fully imagine this song playing in the imaginary scenario, I would scrap it immediately regardless if it sounded ‘fall-like.” You may notice some of these having wind instruments in the background, that would probably be the wind I was hearing in my head.

A.A. Bondy – Among the Pines
Fionn Regan – Hunter’s Map
Tilly and the Wall – Let It Rain
Owen – Playing Possum for a Peek
Kind of Like Spitting – The Thrill of the Hunt
Modest Mouse – Autumn Beds
Beirut – Elephant Gun

Jim

For me, there is a pretty clear correlation of songs for certain seasons and songs for certain times of the day. It basically works as you would expect it to, with Spring lining up with sunrise, Summer partnering up with a sunny afternoon, Fall playing the role of sunset, and Winter of course being the darkness of the evening. More often than not, when I hear a song that reminds me of Summer, I see a bright shiny Sun in the sky, and the tunes for autumn give me the mental image of a pink sky with a slight chill in the air and the smell of burning leaves. That is where these songs breathe.

Love Spit Love – Am I Wrong?
Mission of Burma – Academy Fight Song
Polaris – Waiting for October
The Good Life – October Leaves
Josh Rouse – My Love Has Gone
Built to Spill – The Plan
We Are Augustines – Barrel of Leaves

Colin

There’s a certain sadness that accompanies the transition from the blazing heat on summer
afternoons to the cool breezes on autumn nights. As the weather becomes more temperate, I find myself wanting to listen to music that’s a little smoother around the edges and tinged with just an inkling of melancholy without being depressing. These seven songs are prime examples of the kind of music that reminds me most of fall.

Echo & The Bunnymen – The Killing Moon
The Rolling Stones – She Smiled Sweetly
Brian Eno – St. Elmo’s Fire
New Order – Ceremony
Jackson Browne – Fountain of Sorrow
Leonard Cohen – Hey, That’s No Way to Say Goodbye
The Smiths – here is a Light That Never Goes Out

Dan

Generally, people enjoy the changing of the seasons, and I would include myself in that general category. But there is something about the features of fall and their attractive allusions that, I believe, eclipse any other seasonal transformation. A couple of the songs below will spell out those autumn references. A few others will suggest it with something as grand as overall instrumentation or as minute as a line in a verse. Whatever the appropriate significance may be, what makes these seven songs extraordinary are their (in)tangible abilities to evoke reflections and images of this charming season out of me.

Death Cab for Cutie – Soul Meets Body
Radiohead – Fake Plastic Trees
Phoenix – Sometimes in the Fall
The Verve Pipe – The Freshman
Neil Young – Out on the Weekend
Joshua Radin – What If You
Bloc Party – So Here We Are

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Mega Post, Music

Stick With Us

Stay connected through our social profiles:

4 Comments on “Mega Post: Songs Of Autumn”

  1. Fiona.q
    09.30.11 at 9:44 PM #

    the one pops up on my mind: green day, wake me up when september ends.

  2. 10.1.11 at 12:15 PM #

    These lists are refreshing mixes that will compliment this coming season well. I’ll play test and get back to you.

  3. 10.2.11 at 11:27 PM #

    in our office, we play themed music and “autumn” was one we did. we failed terribly, all we came up with was green day and earth wind and fire. nice list friends.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 7 Songs Perfectly Placed In Films | List Off - 10.18.11

    […] mainly one thing, its soundtrack. So when Love Spit Love‘s Am I Wrong? opens the film (yeah, I used it twice, get over it) merged with the sounds of the marching band we see on-screen, it serves to show the […]

Join the Discussion

