7 Drinking Songs About Drinking


 
What time is it? No matter what time you’re reading this the answer is party time*. Unless you’re on the wagon, a having a drink or four can be the start to a great night and lead to fun times for all. Everything seems better when you’re drunk and music is no different. Here are seven great songs to get drunk to that happen to be about getting drunk.

I Drink Alone – George Thorogood and The Destroyers


 
An alcoholic’s anthem, “I Drink Alone” moves to a slithering groove and conjures up images of sleazy debauchery, and the stench of whiskey breath and cigar smoke. Listening to this song while drinking means you’re doing one of two things: hanging with your buds, or drinking yourself into a stupor of self-loathing.

Drink of Choice: Jack Daniels, straight up

 


I Believe I’ll Have Another Beer – Fear

 

“Everybody needs to believe in something… I believe I’ll have another beer.” Lee Ving pretty much sums the entire song up right there.

Drink of Choice: Miller High Life

 


Too Drunk to Fuck – Dead Kennedys


 
This song always felt like the odd man out in the Dead Kennedys back catalog. Most of their songs are about political and social injustice. “Too Drunk to Fuck” is exactly what it sounds like it would be about.

Drink of Choice: 16 PBRs

 


Jockey Full of Bourbon – Tom Waits

 

Whenever I imagine Tom Waits singing, I picture him with a bottle of bourbon in his hand, half passed out on top of a grand piano. This song only helps to perpetuate that image.

Drink of Choice: Cheap Bourbon

 


Body of an American – The Pogues

 

I was introduced to this song through The Wire (a.k.a. THE GREATEST TELEVISION SHOW EVER MADE) where this song was played at the Irish Wake held for any cop who died on the show. The Pogues’ front man Shane MacGowan is notorious for his struggles he’s had with his alcoholism over the years, and has played many a shows drunk. While it probably wasn’t good for his health, this song really benefits from the drunken swagger in his voice.

Drink of Choice: A combination of Irish Whiskey, and pints of Stout

 


Rebel Yell – Billy Idol


 

This song’s a bit of a cheat. It’s technically not about drinking (it’s about Billy Idol fucking a girl so good, that she yells “more, More, MORE!”) but Billy Idol got the idea when he was getting drunk with Mick Jagger and Keith Richards on Rebel Yell Bourbon. Billy Idol liked the bourbon so much that he decided to write a song using the name of the brand. He just turned it into a song about porking, as Billy Idol is wont to do.

Drink of Choice: Rebel Yell Bourbon

 


I’ll Sleep When I’m Dead – Warren Zevon

 

I often wonder if Oliver Reed had ever heard this song. I like to think that it was his theme song. Warren Zevon is a man who knew how to tell a story, and here he tells a story about how there’s no point in sleeping when there’s still drinks to be had.

Drink of Choice: Whatever’s on the bar!

 
 

*Beer O’Clock would have been another acceptable answer.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Music

Author:Colin Holmes

I love movies. I love watching them and I love writing about them. My taste ranges from Jean Pierre Melville to Jean Claude Van Damme and everything in between as long as it isn’t mediocre. I’ll take a crazy failure of a movie over a middle of the road one any day. I'm an American currently living abroad in Oz and am relishing how my accent makes me sound like a cowboy to everyone I meet here.

Stick With Us

Stay connected through our social profiles:

3 Comments on “7 Drinking Songs About Drinking”

  1. 11.11.11 at 7:14 PM #

    Why isn’t Chumbawamba “Tubthumping on this list?

    • Colin Holmes
      11.18.11 at 10:38 AM #

      I forgot Chumbawamba was a thing.

  2. 11.23.11 at 9:19 AM #

    you should add content more often great read, also like the theme of the site.

Join the Discussion

