7 Things I Learned From the Grammy Nominations


Full disclosure: I didn’t have a clue the nominations special for the 2012 Grammy Awards were on last night. Hell, I didn’t even know they dedicated an entire hour to reveal the nominees. Luckily, fellow writer, Jim, informed me of this, along with some categories and nominees already unveiled. So, I turned it on and learned some things about this sacred, music award event and its nominations special. Also, the picture above was one of the first things I saw on my TV screen. I was a bit confused.

I learned I will forever know the correct spelling of Nicki Minaj’s name, simply because of a slight clerical error by the Grammys. How could they spell the name wrong of an artist who released “Super Base”?

I learned the Grammys are doing an admirable job in sustaining they’re “in touch” with the less prominent genres. After Arcade Fire stormed the award show earlier this year, the Academy members have recognized indie, folk, and even dubstep in major categories for the 2012 show. I am looking forward to seeing pictures of Skrillex next to anyone famous.

I learned the award for Record of the Year is given to the artist, producer, recording engineer, and mixer for one particular song, typically a single.

I learned it was a rough year for R&B. The most acclaimed release nominated for Best R&B Album is R. Kelly’s Love Letter. I’m not so sure many people knew R. Kelly was still making music. Somewhere, Boyz II Men are shaking their heads in dismay.

I learned Bon Iver (two albums and an EP under their belt) is a new artist. Hey, at least they’re are getting deserved recognition. Here’s hoping this happens all over again for Justin Vernon and company.

I learned the Grammys seek out music. They dig through albums upon albums of current music to find releases that stand out. I know this because they are the only people in the world who knew Sum 41 had a new album out. Their song “Blood in My Eyes” is up for Best Hard Rock/Metal Performance.

I learned Best Hard Rock/Metal Performance is a Grammy category.

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Music

Stick With Us

Stay connected through our social profiles:

No comments yet.

Join the Discussion

