Seven Hunky-Dory Pop Love Songs


 
The older I get the softer my music taste seems to get. I view this as a sign of maturity. 17 year old Colin would have thought himself a pussy for listening to something like Fleetwood Mac, but 22 year old Colin feels no shame declaring that the piano is his favorite rock and roll instrument and doesn’t give a shit what you think. I’ve abandoned my love for distorted guitars and heavy riffs, for melodic, uplifting music filled with jingle-jangle piano and clean guitar. I also like a good deal of earnestness in my music and cannot suffer passive singing voices. That’s one of the main things that keeps me from embracing the indie music like my fellow List-Offers. I like hearing songs about romance and heartbreak, but sing it like a man! So while I still enjoy headier songs with deeper messages, sometimes I just want to listen to some well written fluff. Here are seven hunky-dory pop love songs that make you feel good.


You Took The Words Right Out of My Mouth (Hot Summer Night) – Meat Loaf
 
Skip to about 1:00 minute in to skip the weirdo intro.
 

 

Meat Loaf is pretty ridiculous right? I’ll be the first to admit it, however it doesn’t take away from the fact that his music is great. Meat Loaf and his songwriter Jim Steinman have openly stated that their biggest influence is List Off’s much beloved Bruce Springsteen and their music sounds like they listened to “Jungleland” and decided they wanted to take that grandiose, Phil Spector epic sound to the next level. Their first collaboration Bat Out Of Hell was produced by pop-music madman Todd Rundgren and featured E-Street Band members Roy Bittan (piano) and Max Weinberg (drums) and the result was a upbeat, raucous album filled with jingly hooks and Meat Loaf bellowing. “You Took The Words Right Out of My Mouth” is a throwback to sweet bubblegum rock-and-roll love songs of the 50s and early 60s filtered through Meat Loaf and Steinmen’s Uber-Springsteen style.


Oh Yoko – John Lennon

 

Yoko Ono is often blamed for breaking up The Beatles, but if her relationship with John made him write this song that couldn’t have been such a bad thing right? “Oh Yoko” was most famously used during a montage sequence in Wes Anderson’s (amazing) film Rushmore, and if you’ve never heard the song before, but you’re familiar with Anderson that should give you a basic understanding of the tone of the song.


Here Comes My Baby – Cat Stevens

 

Also utilized in Rushmore, Cat Steven’s “Here Comes My Baby” is a little more on the bittersweet side as it’s sung from the point of view of a lovesick boy, who doesn’t have the stones to talk to the girl he’s in love with. However, the song in no way sounds sad or depressing, the juxtaposition of melancholic lyrics with the upbeat piano melody and groovy horns makes the song a tad more complicated than one would expect. Cat Stevens simultaneously nails the joys and heartbreak of pining over a girl.


Walking On The Moon – The Police

 

The Police are a misunderstood band in that they’re really cool, but Sting’s solo foray into Housewife Music has colored people’s perceptions of the band. “Walking On The Moon” is an incredibly chill ska number, equating the walk back home after dropping a girl off to that of walking on the moon. Because there’s no gravity. Get it?


This Magic Moment – Lou Reed


 

This song dates back to 1960 where it was originally recorded by Ben E. King and The Drifters, but I prefer Lou Reed’s cover from the mid-90s that was featured on the Lost Highway soundtrack. Much like Cat Stevens, Lou Reed mixes the romance with a sense of melancholy, tapping into and expressing those fleeting, momentary emotions that are hard to put into words.


Feeling Without Touching – Glass Candy


 
Glass Candy is the only modern band with a song on this list, and that’s partially because they’re a bit of a throwback band. They make upbeat synth driven music meshed with Ida No’s sultry Debbie Harry-esque voice. Her lyrics are a little non-sensical, and I think she might be a little bit of a whack-job, but that doesn’t take away from the pleasantness of the music.


This Must Be The Place – Talking Heads


 

This is without a doubt the most genuine love song ever written and I find it impossible to not feel uplifted while listening to it. The music itself is incredibly simple as there are very few changes within it, but the singular (naive) melody may be the most peaceful and soothing bit of music I’ve ever heard. David Byrne is mostly known for his paranoia drenched lyrics, so to hear him belt out about being blissfully in love is all at once disconcerting and moving. There’s a wistfulness to this song that makes it seem like the feelings being sung about are nothing more than a dream, but when I’m listening to this song, for the five minutes that it’s playing, I don’t care.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Music

Author:Colin Holmes

I love movies. I love watching them and I love writing about them. My taste ranges from Jean Pierre Melville to Jean Claude Van Damme and everything in between as long as it isn’t mediocre. I’ll take a crazy failure of a movie over a middle of the road one any day. I'm an American currently living abroad in Oz and am relishing how my accent makes me sound like a cowboy to everyone I meet here.

Stick With Us

Stay connected through our social profiles:

No comments yet.

Join the Discussion

