A Very Indie Rock Christmas


The other day, Jim tweeted how great Spotify’s private listening function is when he plays songs that may question his music credibility. Well, I must admit, I take advantage of the same option when I play my Christmas music. Certain songs would question far more than my music credibility, and they will not be disclosed here (I’m just saying My Only Wish by Britney Spears is under appreciated, that’s all).  But today, I’ll highlight some indie rock Christmas songs that one should never be bashful to listen to on repeat this holiday season. This list contains a couple sincere remakes, a few lighthearted jingles, and one of the most well-written, unheralded songs of a band that probably isn’t considered indie rock anymore.

Enjoy them, and remember: There is no shame in building your spirit by playing Christmas music, even if you do it so literally no one knows.

Sufjan Stevens–Get Behind Me, Santa!

 

I know that you take it too hard, boy, it’s Christmas time, ain’t no clowning around. And if you think you got something to prove, boy, Santa Claus is coming to town.


Best Coast and Wavves–Got Something For You

 

You think you’re smart searching for your gifts in the dark. You think that I can’t see, you looking under the Christmas tree.


She & Him–The Christmas Waltz

 

It’s that time of year when the world falls in love. Every song you hear seems to say “Merry Christmas. May your new year’s dreams come true.”


Death Cab for Cutie–Christmas (Baby Please Come Home)

 

Pretty lights on the tree. I’m watching them shine. You should be here with me. Baby please come home.


Coconut Records–It’s Christmas

 

Love is all around; the bells are ringin’ out. Dancing with my friends, that’s what it’s all about. So stay with me tonight and we could wake up with a smile. 


The Killers–Boots

 

Frost on all the windows, what a wonderful night. Cinnamon candles burning, snowball fights outside. Smile below each nose and above each chin. So happy they found me, love was all around me. Stomp my boots before I go back in.


Frightened Rabbit–It’s Christmas So We’ll Stop

 

And once you’re tucked in bed, you’ll hold on to the day for the last few seconds. Your gray dull face is protected from the wind. And I’ll protect you, I promise I will. And the rest of our lives will be just like Christmas.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: Music

Stick With Us

Stay connected through our social profiles:

One Comment on “A Very Indie Rock Christmas”

  1. 12.13.11 at 1:39 PM #

    “A Very She & Him Christmas” is one of my favorite albums this season. I especially love the simplicity and warmth of their version of “The Christmas Waltz.”

Join the Discussion

