Mega Post: Christmas Time Is Here


Hey all, Merry Christmas! Yeah I said Christmas, not Happy Holidays, for two reasons: 1. the list below is mainly all Christmas-related things, and 2. We all celebrate Christmas so it makes sense (don’t worry about the whole “religious” aspect though, we’re all going to hell anyway, BRING SOME COOKIES).

This time of year means many things to all of us, as you can see below, so we felt it easiest to make each list a little different, mainly focusing on our top 7 Christmas-y things, with no real specificity to it all. Enjoy, Merry Christmas, and check back next week for our Best of 2011 lists and awards.

Colin Holmes

“You scumbag, you maggot

You cheap lousy faggot

Happy Christmas your arse
I pray God it’s our last”
– “Fairytale of New York”

Christmas is notoriously a time of good cheer, but as I get older it means less and less to me. Presents lose their significance as I now have a (modicum) income of my own that allows me to buy movies and albums whenever I want so that I don’t have to wait all year until Christmas to get that movie I’ve been dying to own and put on my shelf. I also don’t have much of an extended family so Christmas really just consists of me getting together with my brothers and mom and step-dad who I already see on a regular basis. So I’m already indifferent about Christmas and that’s without getting into the indifference I feel about the religious aspects. However here are seven great things that I think came out of Christmas.

The Pogues ft. Kirsty McCall – “Fairytale of New York”
Fear – “Fuck Christmas”
Bing Crosby and David Bowie – “Little Drummer Boy/Peace on Earth”
John C. Reilly and Will Ferrell playing Bing Crosby and David Bowie – “Little Drummer Boy/Peace on Earth”
– Almost Every Shane Black film takes place during Christmas and Shane Black is great.
– One time my Mom tried to buy me an Arrested Development t-shirt, however she accidentally bought one for the band instead of the television show. I never wore it.
Billy Idol apparently made a Christmas album back in 2006. I’m glad that that’s what
he’s up to.

Dan Connolly

Upon first glance, you’ll notice there is no theme to my list. I believe Christmas is ultimately about giving and receiving joy, and in some way or another, each one of these does that for me. The films, songs, and the television episode are self-explanatory—I love them wholeheartedly, and when Christmastime comes, it is imperative I play each of them. But the annual sing-along is probably a bit vague to an outsider. It’s always the second Saturday in December, and this year was my fifth year attending the festivity (now in its 27th year). A close college friend and his family set up Christmas decorations and a huge fire in their backyard, where about 200 friends and family gather around it with a song booklet, and sing about an hours worth of Christmas carols. Afterwards, everyone eats, drinks, and mingles until somebody puts out the fire. The evening is electrifying, and the greatest display of holiday spirit and togetherness I’ve ever been a part of.

“All Alone on Christmas” by Darlene Love
Home Alone and Home Alone 2: Lost in New York
– The Annual Dugan Family Sing-Along
“Jingle Bell Rock” by Brenda Lee
– “Christmas Party” from season two of The Office
“What Christmas Means to Me” by Stevie Wonder
Love Actually

Jim Adair

I have this thing I do around the holidays where, in order to get into the holiday mood, I force Christmas music upon myself. But I can’t listen to the traditional (secular or religious) tunes until very close to the holiday, so I ease myself in with non-traditional tunes. When it comes to the traditional religious tunes, I am really drawn to the gothic undercurrent under many of the songs (“What Child Is This,” “God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen,” “O Holy Night,” etc.) but the nontraditionals I love seem to be half-and-half. So here are 7 of my favorite non-traditional Christmas tunes.

Sufjan Stevens – “Sister Winter”
Rilo Kiley – “Xmas Cake”
Weezer – “The Christmas Song”
Tom Waits – “Christmas Card From a Hooker in Minneapolis”
The Kinks – “Father Christmas”
The Waitresses – “Christmas Wrapping”
– and Colin stole this pick, but it’s too great not to mention: The Pogues and Kirsty McCall – “Fairytale of New York”

Shawn Gamez

There are only a few things left about Christmas that bring me joy. Eggnog, the office Christmas party and the things on this list.
Batman: Noel
David Sedaris – Holidays On Ice
Scrooged
Die Hard
Elvis Presley Christmas Album
Silent Night, Deadly Night
Elf on a Shelf

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Mega Post

Stick With Us

Stay connected through our social profiles:

No comments yet.

Join the Discussion

