Spoken Word: The I’m in Love Edition


Courtesy of the great HBO series Def Poetry Jam, I’ve returned to the spoken word platform to capture poets reciting personal encounters on the most intimate of subjects. Particular men and women put the pen to paper in an attempt to symbolize their love for their counterpart, or recreate an episode which evoked such sentiments. And it takes a gratified, confident partner to do so. Others will never touch it. Then there are the people below, who not only express their words of devotion to their loved one, but to the masses, and make them feel a part of the ride, too.

Shihan– “This Type Love”

 

I even fantasize about walking out on a green light, just dying to get hit by a car. Just so I could lose my memory, get transported to some Third World country just to get treated, then somehow meet up again with you, so I can fall in love with you in a different language and see if it still feels the same-type-love.


Shanelle Gabriel– “Why I love You”

 

If I say ‘go left’ you go right, if I say it’s day you swear it’s night. You still think our anniversary is the 10th of May, it’s the ninth…of March.


Gemineye– “Penny for Your Thoughts”

 

So now I’m standing here ready to trade in all the sexual acts that we’ve performed for the chance to reform the very foundation and basis of our relationship, and I reiterate my opening statement and I offer you another penny for your thoughts.


Beau Sia– “Love”

 

Love isn’t easy. In fact, it’s the bane of my existence. The reason why I hate Valentine’s Day and Halloween, which is about ghosts…and I think you know where I’m going with this. I’m going to the land of girlfriends of Halloween’s past. And maybe I’ve only got three ghosts in this land, but this doesn’t mean they don’t bring their friends, because girls rarely travel alone. 


Dante Basco– “Nikki”

 

We escape ourselves in each other. Yeah, I know a girl named Nikki. I guess you could say she was a sex fiend. But don’t judge her, or me. It’s just a place I’ve been. 


Rives– “Kite”

 

Standing in front of a full-length mirror in a borrowed pair of bunny slippers, slipping off a bathrobe and then wishing to a lightbulb that my name, or my game, or my…whatever were bigger. Wondering what kind of a woman wants this skinny kid for a warrior.


Gina Loring– “You Move Me”

 

You move me like Native American prayer songs, like graffiti under freeways and jeans that fit perfectly. Like hip-hop, like Ella Fitzgerald scats amazing azure blues up and down and slipping sideways, harmonizing honey hymns. You move me like sunshine.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Culture

Stick With Us

Stay connected through our social profiles:

One Comment on “Spoken Word: The I’m in Love Edition”

  1. 01.15.12 at 10:20 PM #

    Rives is certainly one of my favorites. Check out both “Bluegrass” and “Compliment.” Also, Shane Kocyzan writes great love poetry. Especially “Stop Signs” and Apology.”

Join the Discussion

