7 Best Impersonations From Last Week’s SNL


What makes Saturday Night Live so enjoyable are those moments of complete unpredictability–the times when there is a skit so ridiculous that it immediately becomes a “you HAVE got to watch this!” talking point for the next week. In this season (the show’s 37th) of SNL, there have be plenty of those moments (See: The entire Christmas episode hosted by Jimmy Fallon). But to some it seems that although this season has had its bright spots, the current cast is forgettable and unimpressive. And I just don’t agree with that. To me, they are a young, tight-knit group that relish the opportunity to perform on one of comedy’s biggest stages every Saturday–and are pretty damn funny and humble about it.

If there is one collective skill that ties this cast together, it’s their tremendous ability to impersonate. Last Saturday, with Maya Rudolph hosting (a cast member from 2000-07), one sketch in particular had all the qualities for a hilarious, viral knockout. Those being: Celebrity impersonations galore, multiple parody songs, and a surprise appearance from some guy who should just join the cast already.

Jay-Z (Played by Jay Pharoah) 

“I can’t believe it. The two most beautiful women in the world in one room. My wife Beyonce and my little baby guuurl. Blue Ivy, Hova Jr.. Hahaha, YUP!”


Nicki Minaj (Played by Nasim Pedrad)

“Hush little baby, don’t say a word, ‘cuz mama’s gonna buy you a NIGHTMARE! CUZ THERE’S A DEMON, DEMON, DEMON IN YOU!”


Prince (Played by Fred Armisen)

“All my love and congratulations.” Prince later disappears behind the baby’s crib.


Beyonce (Played by Maya Rudolph)

“We were in the hospital. Just me, my husband Jay…and Kanye. First, my water broke, and I was like, (beautifully sing’s a note). And then I went into labor, and I was like, ‘AYY, AYY, AYY.'”


LL Cool J (Played by Kenan Thompson)

“Beyonce and Jay, it’s such an honor to be present on such a special occasion. You can tell it’s special because I’m wearing my formal Kangol.”


Taylor Swift (Played by Kristen Wiig)

Swift enters the room with that expression and leaves the room with that expression, without saying a single word. 


Justin Vernon of Bon Iver (Played by Justin Timberlake)

“Sorry I’m late, uh…whatever. Was just wondering barefoot in the woods of Wisconsin, and fashioned this guitar out of a canoe. And I wrote a song for your baby.” He proceeds to unintelligibly sing, resulting in putting himself to sleep.  

To watch the full sketch, click here.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Music, TV

Stick With Us

Stay connected through our social profiles:

3 Comments on “7 Best Impersonations From Last Week’s SNL”

  1. 02.23.12 at 5:06 PM #

    So only Brad and Angelina didn’t make it?

  2. 02.23.12 at 6:06 PM #

    Correct. Well, and the baby.

  3. 02.23.12 at 6:25 PM #

    I liked White Butler.

Join the Discussion

