7 Bands With Exclamation Marks !!!


This list started out as “Band Names That Are Phrases.” Upon reviewing the list I pulled off the top of my head, I noticed four band titles that had exclamation marks in them. After a small debate between myself and my coffee cup I decided to go with Band Names With Exclamation Marks. Later on I would notice that two of the bands that I had given exclamation points (Does It Offend You, Yeah? & Clap Your Hands Say Yeah) don’t actually have marks in their titles. Considering I love Does It Offend You, Yeah? I was definitely disappointed in myself.

I remedied that shame by listening to Wham!’s “Wake Me Up Before You Go Go” and trying to think of the rest of the bands for this list.

1. WHAM!

This deserves a video.

2. Right Away, Great Captain!

If you’re an avid fan of the band Manchester Orchestra than you should already be aware of Andy Hull‘s  acoustic and solemn solo work. This project is a trilogy of CD’s that tells the saga of a 17th century sailor who catches his wife in an act of betrayal with his  brother. The first two albums (The Bitter End & The Eventually Home) have already been released. The third installment – a double album – is do for release some time this year and is titled Church of the Good Thief.

3. Oh No! Oh My!

The talent runs deep in this band. Each of the members (Daniel Hoxmeier, Joel Calvin, Greg Barkley, and Tim Regan) play at least three instruments proficiently.

Side Note: The band recently received press when one of their fans was denied entry to Six Flags San Antonio for wearing a t-shirt which appeared to illustrate two girls consuming small children.

4. !!!

The name  !!! is pronounced by repeating any monosyllabic sound three times but the general consensus is “chk chk chk”. I don’t understand this and for some reason the only thing I think of when pronouncing this band is Wolverine popping his claws out in the X-Men cartoon from the 90s. The dance-punk band’s name came from the subtitles of the movie The Gods Must Be Crazy, in which the clicking sounds of the Bushmens’ Khoisan language were represented as “!”.

5. You Say Party! We Say Die!

The story goes that this band was birthed out of a bike gang known as The Smoking Spokes. Scary. This is the second dance-punk band on the list. Most of the ‘dance’ comes on the remix albums and the punk never really comes.

Based on their band photos they enjoy: fists, sunglasses, clouds, partying, teeth, Scrabble, walls, ballet and viciously hurting people.

6. The Go! Team

Team is an appropriate word used for their title. The core group of the band consists of six people. In addition there is an extensive list of guest vocalists and sampled voices. It’s a clusterfuck of fun!

Clusterfuck is an appropriate word for me to use because of the sound they were looking for when they created the band:  “Sonic Youth-style guitars, double dutch chants, bollywood soundtracks, old school hip hop and electro.”

7. Just Say Go!

I can’t give you much information on this band. My friend gave me a CD with their name on it. I hated it after about 45 seconds.

Honorable Mention: You Tarzan? Me Jane!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Music

Stick With Us

Stay connected through our social profiles:

4 Comments on “7 Bands With Exclamation Marks !!!”

  1. Colin Holmes
    11.7.11 at 1:45 PM #

    I also really like Godspeed You! Black Emperor.

    • 11.7.11 at 1:54 PM #

      Damn, I forgot about those guys. Good stuff.

  2. Muffy Mufferson
    12.30.11 at 8:02 PM #

    Panic! At the Disco. 3OH!3

  3. Babbincacks
    08.23.14 at 2:45 AM #

    There’s also Take It Back!, and Attack! Attack!.

Join the Discussion