7 Songs For Plane Crashes


Something strange happened between the last time I flew on a plane in June 2006 and now: I’ve somehow become terrified of even the idea of flying. I’ve flown before, and it’s never been a problem, but for some reason, my flight to Atlanta Friday (and from Atlanta to Miami) has already made me a bundle of nerves.

So what do I do? I should just keep my mind off of it and deal with it when it comes, but I don’t do rational things. So instead, I spent the last day finding songs that mention (or are about) plane crashes. This hasn’t made me feel any better. But it is kinda cool to now know, if the plane does go down, this post will look super prophetic. I’ll just have someone posthumously remove these last two sentences.

Anyway, here they are, 7 songs for plane crashes.

Pavement – Hit the Plane Down


“Hit the plane down, there’s no survivors”

Bright Eyes – At The Bottom of Everything


“And then they splashed into the deep blue sea. It was a wonderful splash”

James Taylor – Fire and Rain


“Sweet dreams and flying machines in pieces on the ground”

John Denver – Leaving On A Jet Plane


“I’m leavin’ on a jet plane, don’t know when I’ll be back again”

Rilo Kiley – Wires and Waves


“And sometimes planes they smash-up in the sky, and sometimes lonely hearts they just get lonelier”

Ryan Adams – Sweet Lil’ Gal (23rd/1st)


“In the field where my plane went down”

Modest Mouse – Shit Luck


“This plane is definitely crashing”

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: Music

Stick With Us

Stay connected through our social profiles:

4 Comments on “7 Songs For Plane Crashes”

  1. Me
    12.7.11 at 8:23 PM #

    I love Bright Eyes so much. What a great song!!

  2. 03.19.13 at 1:47 AM #

    You probably don’t want to here these on the inflight entertainment system when flying!

  3. Thom Yorke
    08.21.13 at 12:06 PM #

    What about “Lucky” by Radiohead?

    “Pull me out of the aircrash”

  4. sebastian
    03.24.14 at 2:19 PM #

    RIP Flight MH370 Kuala Lumpur-Beijing

Join the Discussion